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No.   2023-8103 

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner  of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:   7/28/2023  

Subject Considered:  
AIU Insurance Company  

P.O Box 201329   
Austin, Texas  78720-1329  

Consent Order  
DWC  Enforcement File Nos.  31341, 31580, 31581, 31843, 31881,  

31998, 31999, 32110, and 32111.  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with AIU Insurance Company  (Respondent). The commissioner of  
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) considers  
whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these  rights, and any other procedural rights that 
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  

Findings of Fact  

1. Respondent  holds a certificate of authority  issued by the Texas  Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 

2. Respondent was classified as “average” tier in the 2022 Performance Based 
Oversight (PBO) assessments. Respondent was not chosen to be tiered in the 2007, 
2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, or 2020 PBO assessments. 
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Failure to Timely  Take  Final Action on a Reconsideration of a Medical Bill  

File No.  31341  

3. On   Respondent received a complete request for reconsideration 
of a medical bill  from  a health care provider  for medical services rendered to an 
injured employee on 

4. Respondent was required to take action on the request for reconsideration not 
later than the 30th day of receipt of the request, or by 

5. Respondent acted on the medical bill on   which was  86  days late. 

Failure to Timely  Pay or Dispute Initial  Temporary Income Benefits  (TIBs)  

File No.  31580  

6. The  injured employee’s  first day of disability began on  The eighth 
day of disability accrued on 

7. On  Respondent  received  an employee’s  notice  of a  workplace 
injury. 

8. Respondent  was required to initiate or dispute TIBs  either  15 days after  it received 
written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date,  whichever is later. 
In this case, the latest date  was . 

9. On  Respondent  initiated  TIBs in the amount of  which 
was 18  days late. 

File No.  31998  

10. The  injured employee’s  first day of disability began on The eighth 
day of disability accrued on 

11. On Respondent  received  an employee’s  first  notice of a 
workplace injury. 

f idential Information Redacted Texas 

Lab-or Code §§40'2.083 and 402.092 



 
 

    
  

Commissioner’s Order 2023-8103 
AIU Insurance Company 
DWC Enforcement File No. 31341, 31580, 31581, 31843, 31881, 31998, 31999, 32110, and 32111 
Page 3 of 12 

12. Respondent  was required to initiate or dispute TIBs  either  15 days after  it received 
written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date,  whichever is later. 
In this case, the latest date  was 

13. On Respondent  initiated  TIBs  in the amount of   which 
was  seven  days late. 

File No.  31999  

14. On Respondent  received  an employee’s  first  notice of a 
workplace injury. 

15. The  injured employee’s  first day of disability began on  The 
eighth day of disability accrued on 

16. Respondent  was required to initiate or dispute TIBs  either  15 days after  it received 
written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date,  whichever is later. 
In this case, the latest date  was 

17. On  Respondent  initiated  TIBs in the amount of  ,  which 
was 14  days late. 

Failure to  Pay Temporary Income Benefits in Accordance with a Designated Doctor Report  

File No.  31581  

18. On  Respondent received a report from a designated doctor (DD) in 
connection with a DD examination. 

19. The DD determined that the injured  employee’s inability to obtain and retain 
employment at wages  equivalent to the pre-injury wage was a direct result of the 
compensable injury. 

20. 

-
Respondent was required to pay accrued temporary income benefits (TIBs) no later 
than five days after receiving the DD's report. The deadline to pay  TIBs was  

21. On Respondent paid benefits  six days  late. 
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22. Respondent complied fu lly by paying interest on 

Fai lure to Timely Pay Accrued Temporary Income Benefits 

File No. 3 7843 

23. Respondent was required to income ben- fits IBs to an in·ured 
employee for the period of through The 
TIBs a ment was due seven days after the first day of the pay period, which was

24. Respondent pa i d■ in TIBs on which was five days late. 

File No. 3 7999 

25. In addition to the conduct described above in paragraphs 14-17, Respondent was 
required to a tern ora income benefits TIBs to an in·ured employee for the 
period of through The TIBs a ment was 
due seven days after the f a of the riod, which was 
Respondent paid TIBs on which was 63 days late. 

Fai lure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill 

File No. 37887 

26. On a health care provider (HCP) provided medical services to an 
injured employee. 

27. Respondent received a completed medical bi ll in the amount 
from the HCP. 

28. Respondent was re~ e b ill within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was -

29. On Respondent paid the HCP, which was 91 days late. 
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File No. 32110 

30. On a health care provider (HCP) provided medical services to an 
injured employee. 

31. Respondent received a completed medical bill in the amount 
0 from the HCP. 

32. Respondent was re-iredto act on the bill within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was 

33. On Respondent paid the HCP, which was 68 days late. 

Fai lure to Provide Sufficient Contact Information to System Participants 

File No. 32111 

34. On the HCP provided medical services to an injured 
employee. 

35. On the HCP submitted a medical bill, via fax, based on a prior 
DWC-32 form, Request for Designated Doctor (DWC-32,) fi led with DWC by 
Respondent's counsel. 

36. Respondent contends that the fax number is not associated with them. 

37. Respondent did not provide a sufficient means of contact for the system 
participant HCP. 

Assessment of Sanction 

1. Failure to pay health benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful to 
injured employees and the Texas workers' compensation system. Prompt payment 
of medical bi lls is imperative to DWC's goal of ensuring that injured employees 
have access to prompt, high-quality medical care. Addit ionally, failure to provide 
income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful to injured 
employees and the Texas workers' compensation system. 
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2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the  following factors 
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with  electronic data interchange requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a  sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

3. DWC found the following factors in  Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e) to be  aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences, extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act;  the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a negative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; and other matters that justice 
may require,  including evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to 
comply with the  Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

4. DWC is aware of no mitigating factors pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  180.26(e). 

5. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute 
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative 
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the 
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factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.  
Code § 180.26(e).  

6. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this  matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 
§§ 402.001; 402.00114;  402.00116; 402.00128;  414.002; and 414.003. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.056; Tex. Lab.  Code §§  401.021; 402.00128(b)(6)-(7); and 28 
Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and (i). 

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to  which it 
may have been entitled regarding the entry of  this order, including, but not limited 
to,  issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code  § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time  it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code  § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with 
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Failure to Timely  Take  Final Action on a Reconsideration of a Medical Bill  

File No.  31341  

7. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 133.250(g), an insurance carrier shall take  final 
action after receipt of  a request for reconsideration of a medical bill  not later than 
the 30th day after the  date the  insurance carrier received the request. 
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8. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 
133.250(g)  by  failing  to act on the request for reconsideration within 30 days of 
receipt of the request. 

Failure to Timely  Pay or Dispute Initial  Temporary Income Benefits  (TIBs)  

File Nos.  31580, 31998,  and  31999  

9. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 409.021(e) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 124.3, an 
insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation if it fails 
to pay  benefits, file a  Notice of Denial on the compensability of a  claim, or  file a 
Notice of Continuing Investigation within 15 days after it receives written notice of 
the injury. 

10. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.021; 415.002(a)(20) and (22); and 28 
Tex. Admin. Code § 124.3 each time Respondent failed to timely initiate TIBs. 

Failure to Pay Temporary Income Benefits in Accordance with a Designated Doctor Report  

File No.  31581  

11. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

12. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 408.0041(f), an insurance carrier must pay benefits 
based on the opinion of the DD during any  pending dispute. 

13. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(i), an insurance carrier must pay all 
benefits in accordance with the DD report for the issues  in dispute  no later than 
five days after receiving the report. 

14. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§  409.023; 415.002(a)(16), (20), and (22); and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  127.10(i) by failing to timely pay accrued income benefits in 
accordance with the DD report no later than five days after receiving the report. 
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Failure to Timely Pay Accrued  Temporary Income Benefits  

File Nos.  31843  and  31999  

15. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

16. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081, 408.082, and 409.021 and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7, an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs 
no later than the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury  or the seventh 
day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured 
employee in writing of its refusal to pay. 

17. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§  408.081; 409.021;  415.002(a)(16), (20), and 
(22); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7 each time  Respondent failed to 
timely pay accrued  TIBs. 

Failure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill  

File Nos.  31881,  and  32110  

18. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.027 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code  § 133.240, an 
insurance carrier is required to timely process  and take final action on a completed 
medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

19. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 408.027;  415.002(a)(20); 415.002(a)(22); and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  133.240 each time  Respondent  failed to pay,  reduce, deny, 
or determine to audit a completed medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

Failure to  Provide  Sufficient  Contact Information  to  a  System Participant 

File No.  32111  

20. Pursuant to  28 Tex. Admin. Code §  102.4(d),  insurance carriers providers must 
provide telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email addresses  sufficient to service 
the volume of business for receiving required verbal and written communications 
on workers' compensation claims. 
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21. Respondent violated  28 Tex. Admin. Code §  102.4(d) by failing  to provide a 
sufficient  means of  contact for the system participant HCP. 

Information Redacted Texas 
Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 



 
 

    
  

Commissioner’s Order 
AIU Insurance Company 
DWC Enforcement File No. 31341, 31580, 31581, 31843, 31881, 31998, 31999, 32110, and 32111 
Page 11 of 12 

2023-8103 

Order  

It is ordered that AIU Insurance  Company  must pay an administrative penalty of $14,000  
within 30 days from the date of this order.  AIU Insurance Company  must pay the  
administrative penalty  by company check, cashier’s check, or money order and make it 
payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas  Department 
of  Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas  
78711-2030.  

__________________________________________  
Jeff Nelson  
Commissioner  
TDI, Division of  Workers’ Compensation  

Approved Form and Content:  

________________________________________  
Dan Garcia  
Staff Attorney, Enforcement  
Compliance and Investigations  
TDI, Division of  Workers’ Compensation  
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Peter Macdonald 

30 Hudson Street Jersey City 

July 17 

Vice President 

Hudson NJ 07302 

___________________________________ 
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Unsworn  Declaration  

STATE  OF NEW JERSEY §  
§  

COUNTY  OF HUDSON §  

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name 

is . I hold the position of and am the authorized 

representative of AIU Insurance Company. My business address is: 
, , , . 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I 
declare under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and 

correct. 

Declarant 

Executed on_______________________, 2023. 
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